I’d Take on 6 Dozen of Our ” Brucey “

I woke up feeling so emotional this morning.  Maybe it was the Budweiser commercial of the new Clydesdale Foal – put together for this year’s Super Bowl.

Actually – I’ve been falling apart every time I think about it, lately.

Bruce is the Black Calf on the right.

Bruce is the Black Calf on the right.

We bought ‘ FF Bruce Almighty ‘ in April, 2012 – same time we purchased ‘ FF Freedom’s Artist ‘ – Our first Bull.

2

And we still have another year to go with our beloved ‘ Brucey ‘ – as I call him most of the time.

I know they say you should never give ‘em a name.  But we’re required to do so – for the ( ADCA) American Dexter Cattle Association.

Bruce and Artist are Half-Brothers and Best Buds forever!

Bruce and Artist are Half-Brothers and Best Buds forever!

I know I told Dwayne we needed to get two of ‘em.

I know I’m not supposed to spend much time with him.

4

I know I’m not supposed to enjoy all that time brushing him down.

I know I’m not supposed to get comfortable sitting on the ground with him.

3

I know I’m not supposed to depend on him to help me show all the others how much they can love being brushed.

I know I’m not supposed to depend on him to help me train the others to walk with me during lead-rope training.

7

I know I’m not supposed to depend on him to help me get all the others into the barn during bad weather – or – feeding – or – animal health care.

Cora on the left - Bruce on the right.

Cora on the left – Bruce on the right.

I know I’m not supposed to depend on him to keep the babies busy when Cora’s in her 3rd trimester and just doesn’t have it in her to play with them.

I know I’m not supposed to enjoy conning him into eating alfalfa cubes after supper.

I know I’m not supposed to sit there and love all over him when he lowers his head against my shin and gently presses against me – just showin’ me some love.

9

But.  I did.  I have.  And I do.

And what I don’t know is…

What’s gonna happen when it is time to take him to the Butcher.

6

I don’t know if I’m gonna be able to do it.

What I do know is…

9a

Brucey is my first Irish Dexter Steer.  Nothing like a Black Angus – or any other standard breed.

And that Docile Demeanor in Dexters just shines through and through – where Bruce stands.

9c

I couldn’t ask for a better animal to raise.

I don’t know if I’ll ever be this lucky again.

9b

I think I could be – if Brucey were there with me.

I might have to get ugly – and really stupid.

But truth be told – I don’t think Dwayne’s heart is very far from mine in this situation – as well.

brucebaby

He came to live us and has become – very much – a part of our family.

9c1

I told him we needed to get 2 of ‘em.

About Three Cedars Irish Dexters

With gorgeous views from up on a hill in the middle of a Holler, tucked quietly in the beauty of East Tennessee - we raise Dexter Cattle - an adventure birthed in April, 2012 with the ultimate goal of spoiling and pampering every 4-legged ' mooovelous ' soul living here with us!
This entry was posted in FF Bruce Almighty, What We've Learned and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to I’d Take on 6 Dozen of Our ” Brucey “

  1. d.a. says:

    You know, if he’s as good and helpful as you write, he might be worth keeping around for training other cattle. And yeah, our first group of chickens – all named – are on the “pension plan” at our place. They survived being our first flock of hens, and by golly, I feel too indebted to put them in the stock pot. The later generations, however, have been easier to butcher when necessary. A thought, anyway…

    Like

Please feel free to leave comments or questions about Dexter Cattle! We'll be more than happy to answer your questions to the best of our knowledge and/or according to our own personal experiences! If we don't know the answer... we'll do our best to put you in touch with one of our American Dexter Cattle Association Members that may be able to help you!

